Going digital

Good day writers and friends,

I don’t know about you, but I am learning as much as I can about digital publishing and book marketing as possible. At 67 years of age, I find it a challenge. Being dyslexic makes the journey even more of a challenge.

Good thing I am stubborn. My mother once told me, “When the angels gave out patience they forgot to give you any.”

I read Let’s Get Digital by David Gaughran. It it an excellent guidebook on the ins and outs of self-publishing. There was much to absorb in the book. I ended up making copies of pages I want to follow-up on. I also added some new writers to follow on my Twitter account.

The book is about how to self-publish, and why you should.

I highly recommend the book.

Be happy Butterfly Woman friends.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Going digital

  1. Mary Ellen,

    Thank you for blogging and keeping your Butterfly Women reading (and maybe also self-publishing!). And your radio interview was so informative and inspiring…(when the interviewer took a breath to let you speak!) but I understand; your energy lifts our spirits. Blessings and balance…

    Mary Ellen Riehle (La Mer)

    • Thank you so much La Mer. I am happy you caught the essence. I am writing an article now for Celebrate HOME Magazine on butterflies. I want to capture the breath of what butterflies need that come to a garden. It is not just a question of pretty flowers. I’ll let you know when the spring issue comes out.

      I am writing my third book about butterfly habitat. The first two where children’s books: My Name is Butterfly and The Monarch Butterfly Coloring Book. Both are sold on Amazon.

      We have danced with others for Water. The new habitat I am implementing is within a protected water-shed area in Fitchburg, MA. I do Water Ceremony here and I remember water sisters there.

      Namaste,
      Mary Ellen

      • OK — you say it’s not just a question of beautiful flowers. So, I will await the insight…when the butterfly whispers to you. Since hearing the Talkupy radio program, I have been “beside myself,” pondering the idea of writing a grant for a “Monarch Butterfly Garden for All Transient Beings” here in Port Townsend, WA. I am thinking of the homeless…children….right here in Port Townsend, WA, USA.
        I feel joy and mutual respect rippling far out from your splashes of color and love! Be well.
        Namaste,
        La Mer (Mary Ellen Riehle)

  2. I am enthralled with your idea of a butterfly garden for homeless children etc. You can do it La Mer. The quickest way to learn about butterfly gardens, from the butterfly’s point of view, is to learn about their native plants. I highly recommend Bringing Nature Home by Douglas W. Tallamy. We can always chat by phone after the read (978 696-5063). I am doing a Butterfly Garden talk at Fitchburg Public Library end of April, where I will introduce the concept to gardeners. This is the approach I am also taking for Field Guide I am writing. So happy Butterfly program on Talkupy is fluttering in your heart, where all great work manifests.
    Namaste,
    Mary Ellen Ryall http://www.butterflywomanpublishing.com

Leave a Reply

